Best Ever Vegan Quiche

Best ever Vegan Quiche

Yesterday I had an impromptu tea party.  For days I was paralysed by performance anxiety about what to cook my Aunty (who’s a chef) when she came for lunch.  I finally decided on test running my vegan quiche recipe out on her and inspired by the contents of my fridge, decided on a green provençal veg filling.  Aunty, who’s a chef, always manages to turn out several spectacular puddings at the same time, so I thought I’d try a black bean brownie recipe out on her that had been shared by one of my massage school teachers.  Sadly Sainsbury’s didn’t have black beans in any form, dried or ready prepared, so I resorted back to my old faithful sugar-free, dairy-free carrot cake.

I took Aunty to the station and a friend came over to help me practice for my massage exams in 2 weeks and brought delicious vegan chocolate cupcakes with orange frosting.  With lashings of hibiscus & mint tea, leftover quiche, carrot cake & cupcakes, we had ourselves an unexpected tea party!

Aunty Loved it – Provençal Vegan Quiche

1 red onion thinly sliced

1 box of organic mushrooms, sliced

2 sticks of celery, thinly sliced

4 garlic cloves, chopped finely

1 organic courgette, thinly sliced

1/2 head of broccoli, finely chopped

1 box of silken tofu

1 tblsp tahini

1 tblsp rice (or white wine) vinegar

2 tblsps lemon juice

generous pinch of salt

generous sprinkle of dried oregano

small handful of fresh thyme, rosemary & lemon balm chopped finely

1 tblsp deodorised coconut oil

1 prepared pack of shortcust pastry (most are made with veg oils not milk derivatives), make your own if you have some pastry skills!

How to:

Heat the oil and fry the onion & celery, when it starts to soften add the mushrooms, garlic & herbs.  When the mushrooms have almost cook add the courgette and broccoli.

Roll out your pastry and line a quiche tin. I tried it before with ready roll and it wasn’t wide enough for my quiche tin.  I had to use another and it was a disaster zone to get out. Aunty says cook the pastry a little beforehand or it might not cook enough, but I’d already started putting the filling in & it turned out ok, so go with whatever works with you!

In a bowl crumble in the drained tofu, vinegar, lemon juice, salt and tahini & blend with a hand blender.

Sprinkle a bit of the filling in the bottom of the pastry base and splatter a little tofu mix around it before adding the rest of the filling and tofu mix and stirring it up a bit to ensure the tofu spreads through the gaps.

Cook in a preheated oven at 200ºc for about 30 minutes.  Cover with foil about half way through to stop the pastry edges from burning whilst the rest cooks.

and voila delicious quiche, perfect for picnics, bbqs, taking lunch to work and impromptu tea parties (of which there should be many more!)

Free from everything but taste Carrot Cake recipe here 

6 responses to “Best Ever Vegan Quiche

  1. Pingback: Looking back, looking forwards – 2014 ramblings in review | Ramblings of a wild strawberry·

Have your say

