Tried and Tested: Omega Oil

Our obsession with low fat diets means we often tend to avoid fatty foods. Fats, however, are a building block as essential to the body as carbohydrates and protein. It’s about getting the right fats!

Omega 3 & 6 are polyunsaturated, essential fatty acids that can’t be produced by the body and have to be consumed in food. Important for blood clotting, building cell membranes in the brain, lowering ‘bad’ cholesterol, reducing inflammation, eye health, cognition and helping against heart disease, they’re an essential part of body functioning.  Omega 9, is a monosaturated acid that increases ‘good’ cholesterol, reduces ‘bad’ cholesterol and are obviously useful to help maintain cardiovascular health and reduce plaque build up in the arteries which can result in stroke and heart attack.  They can be produced by the body, but is beneficial if also consumed.

Now it’s all about getting them in the right ratio, with the recommended ratio of Omega 6 to 3 – 3:1

These good fats can be found in vegetable oils like flax, hemp, canola etc and avocados, olives, nuts and fruits. With our busy lives it’s hard enough to eat well and monitor you’re getting the right mix of vitamins and minerals, let alone monitor the ratio of omega 3:6:9.

I chose simplicity and reached for a bottle, I tried a couple and found I prefer the taste and price of Cool Oil’s Organic Omega Oil.  A mixture of evening primrose, Hemp, Flax and pumpkin seeds, I pour it on my cooked porridge, on salads or into soups (it shouldn’t be heated). I’d been vegetarian for 6 years, vegan for 2 of those, and whilst I felt like I was quite good at balancing my diet, my cognition and energy levels massively improved when I started adding this oil to my daily diet.

Omega 3:6:9 oil

One response to “Tried and Tested: Omega Oil

  1. Pingback: Looking back, looking forwards – 2014 ramblings in review | Ramblings of a wild strawberry·

Have your say

