Vegan Yorkshire: Ginger Cafe, Halifax

Authentic food cooked with good intentions and year of practice

Authentic food cooked with good intentions and year of practice

Yorkshire is a beautiful place. As soon as I turned off the motorway and through the Dales, I felt tension I didn’t know I had melt away. I was trying to explain the difference between the south and the North to a friend from overseas and I stumbled on the reasons why. I know people in the North are friendlier, have a more encompassing sense of community and are more open, but I don’t know why. Any northerners out there able to fill in the gaps?

I do love a pie! Hearty Vegan food, cooked with love at the Ginger Cafe

I do love a pie! Hearty Vegan food, cooked with love at the Ginger Cafe

We tried to visit the world peace cafe but despite having numerous recent reviews it was unceremoniously locked up tight and very definitely closed. I have no sense of distance in Yorkshire. Halifax sounded really far away from Huddersfield, but within 20 minutes we were parked up in Halifax and making our way to the Ginger Cafe.

What a find! Ran by husband and wife team, Mark and Clare, with clearly years of experience and a passion for bringing healthy delights to the masses. The dishes were comforting and nourishing. So rare to be able to eat a pie, I couldn’t resist! The pastry and filling was delicious. I don’t tend to eat soya protein very often but it was very well cooked and there were no resulting stomach aches! Every single dessert was also vegan and mostly gluten free, I most definitely saved room.

With 5 desserts all Vegan friendly it was impossible to share, so we went halves on a delicious Ginger & Mint 'Cheese'cake and a cherry bakewell

With 5 desserts all Vegan friendly it was impossible to share, so we went halves on a delicious Ginger & Mint ‘Cheese’cake and a cherry bakewell

As a vegan it’s not often to have choices on a menu. Often its one thing if you’re lucky and your best like mushrooms… Overwhelmed with vegan cake deliciousness I roped Jem in to go halves on two. I was interested in their cheesecake from a technical/structural point of view. Did they make it with cashew or tofu? The answer is Tofu! Clare also directed me to a gelling product, still based on algae, that was a third of the price of clearspring agar I was using before.

I loved the gingery spice kick but felt it strong to stand on its own. The mint layer was nice but personally as a ginge myself, I felt more affinity to that layer.

Not normally a fan of cherry bakewells, probably put off by Mr Kipling’s exceedingly not very good cakes, I felt it was more of a regional dessert and wanted to give it a try in a lovingly handmade version. Wow. It was incredible! So tasty, soft and crumbly in all the right places. Apparently it’s taken her years (Mark does the cooking, Clare does the baking) to perfect the perfect vegan and gluten free cherry bakewell. That sums it up right there. Their commitment to healthy food perfection, crafted & honed over years. Shyly served, be sure to tell them how much you appreciate their little haven and how delicious the food was!

One for the road? So delicious we took two more to go! The perfect combination of taste, crumble and softness.

One for the road? So delicious we took two more to go! The perfect combination of taste, crumble and softness.

Have your say

