Christmas day in paradise – Peanut Butter curry

Christmas day in paradise - peanut butter curry recipe

I finally managed to extract myself from London life and the all it’s wheelings and dealings, to arrive with my baggage (I have a history of bad luggage Karma) in El Salvador just in time for Christmas!

I’ve blogged about it before so my readers are aware that I don’t buy in to the conventional approach to Christmas. Christmas is now more about the highstreet. I would prefer to better honour a person’s birth day and to spend quality time with loved ones spontaneously, rather than because the marketing machine tells me to. Give presents because you feel like it rather than because this is prescribed as the day to be generous.

wonderful spices

Spice up your Christmas! 

Whilst I humour my mum and sit down for a ‘Fakemas dinner’ with the family, there’s nothing I love more than stepping out of convention, skipping over to some exotic location and doing all the things you wouldn’t do in England on Christmas day. Running on the beach, drinking coconuts, surfing, yoga, eating curry, reading my book and watching the waves are all wonderful Christmas/any day activities!

After a surfing refresher lesson with my surf teacherJonathan, I attended a mostly expats orphan’s christmas. I needed to take a vegan friendly dish as the others would most definitely be sticking with the traditional Turkey route, complete with yams (baked with marshmallows on top??!! Seriously America?!), mashed potato and surprisingly brussel sprouts, procured from the local supermarket!!

3 big dollops of peanut butter make the curry really creamy

3 big dollops of peanut butter make the curry really creamy

Curry is my go to dish and as I scanned the shelves in our casa to see what I could throw together I spied peanut butter! Massaman curry jumped to mind but I lacked the spices for thai so I prepared a green bean, yellow pepper & broccoli curry and added peanut butter to thicken and flavour the sauce.

Ingredients:

1 onion, chopped

1 yellow pepper chopped into large chunks

3 handfuls of green beans, ends chopped off and cut in half

half a head of broccoli chopped into bite sized pieces

1 cup of chopped tomatoes – fresh or tinned.

1 tin of chickpeas

3 tablespoons of peanut butter

1 tsp of curry powder

½ tsp tumeric

1 tsp of cumin powder

¼ tsp of chilli powder

1 pinch of salt

1 tblsp coconut oil

Instructions:

  • Gently heat the coconut oil & sweat the onion & pepper. After the onion has softened, add the green beans and continue to cook for a couple of minutes, stirring often.
  • Add the chopped tomatoes, or pasta sauce in my case if you don’t have any chopped or fresh tomatoes to use. Stir in, add the powders, stir the peanut butter in and add the chickpeas & brocolli.
  • Let the curry simmer for 5 – 10 minutes. Add water if the sauce is too thick. Serve with brown rice & sprinkle with coriander if you have some.

peanut butter curry

Have your say

