Recipe: Peppy Red Pesto

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, my name is Emma and I’m a feeder. I just can’t muster the same level of enthusiasm to prepare something for myself as I can in the pursuit of providing sustenance, nutrition and nourishment to another, especially a loved another.

The loved another was my bezzie, she is a lovely human being. She always has been. She is kind and sweet, considerate, patient, motivating and encouraging. She is my voice of reason when I need a sense check. She is the voice of conscience that reminds me to be kinder to myself than I often am. She is always giving others something – time, patience, heart, help, gifts etc and right now she needs some giving back.
I rocked up with a box of organic veggies to do just that and make some nice meals for her, typical of her, she’s thought ahead and had already got in a big veggie delivery. With double the veg I went to town on getting as many nutrient rich foods prepared as possible, focusing on the raw side to pep up her energy.  Lots of varieties of pesto & hummus served up with colourful salads, like this red pepper & sundried tomato pesto.

I stirred this into a TexMex inspired couscous salad made with roasted sweet potato, sweetcorn kernels, kidney beans & avocado chunks but the ratios were a little off and the flavour didn’t come through strong enough.  Serve on the side to mix at will!

Ingredients:

4 tblsps of pumpkin or sunflower seeds

4 garlic cloves, chopped

4 sundried tomatoes, chopped, be generous with the oil that comes with them

1 Romano red pepper

Generous slug of olive oil to desired consistency

1 chilli (optional and adjust to taste, if you don’t like it spicy use less or none, use dried if no fresh available)

Juice of 1/2 lemon (optional)

Generous pinch of salt and some black pepper

Instructions:

Grind up the seeds first, then add the garlic, sundried tomatoes, red pepper, chilli and oil. The red pepper will provide moisture to the mix, so less oil can probably be used than a traditional pesto but it depends on the consistency and use as to how much oil is added. Add the salt and pepper. Blitz again in the blender. Taste and adjust any flavours to your taste.

img_6328

Blending up red pepper, chilli, garlic & sundried tomatoes into a peppy red pesto

One response to “Recipe: Peppy Red Pesto

Have your say

